Install a Teamspeak server on Linux

This guide has been moved to Silicon Gadget.

7 Responses to Install a Teamspeak server on Linux

  1. […] Jason Harris wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptTeamspeak is a popular voice chat program that allows you to have an audio conference with your friends, family, or coworkers; it is very useful especially when you need to hold a voice chat with many people at the same time. […]

  2. Ubiety says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Ubiety!!!

  3. Rob says:

    I have enter all the correct text for this script and when I execute I get and error
    58: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

    Any ideas?

  4. Rob says:

    Ok found the first problem.. here is my second. When I run the script I get this

    Starting TeamSpeak Server: teamspeak
    d_start
    echo .
    ;;
    stop)
    echo -n Stopping TeamSpeak Server: teamspeakstart-stop-daemon: signal value must be numeric or name of a signal (KILL, INT, …)
    Try ‘start-stop-daemon –help’ for more information.

    You will have to forgive me. I am a noob at this

  5. Sorry for the late, but I was in London for a vacation.

    What is your distribution?

    Forgive me for the simple question, but is your system up-to-date? I ask this because while I researched for your problem I found that not so log ago there was a bug found in the “lsb-base” package that was causing the kind of error you are experiencing; you can find information here (is for Debian’s distribution, but probably it could be useful also for your distribution):
    http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=469167

  6. Drake says:

    I get all the way down to step 14 and get the following message.

    /etc/init.d/teamspeak: 15: Server”: not found

    Any ideas?

    I figured I would just move on and start the next step. But when I typ in the sudo ln command while in the rc0.d directory I get this error.
    ln: target `teamspeak’ is not a directory

  7. Drake says:

    Oh yeah, before you ask, I’m running the following

    Ubuntu
    release 8.04 (hardy)
    Kernel Linux 2.6.24-16-generic
    GNOME 2.22.3

Leave a Reply

